The UK in the EU

As the debate on the UK’s membership of the EU intensifies, more and more people are stepping forward and making the case in favour of EU membership. See what they say


To see how to become a member of the European Movement, click here

What's the EU to you?


EU 4 Real


Citizens of Europe


Speaker service

Need a speaker for a debate you are organising on Europe? Click here to find out how we can help.

EuroMove200 club

The EuroMove 200 Club is a lottery. Members of the European Movement UK can enrol in the Club at any time so, if you are a current member of the Movement and would like to join and have a chance to win one of the cash prizes...

Expert Briefings

To read the latest analysis from the Senior European Experts click here.

→ Review of the balance of competence between the UK and the EU

→ The 2015 Party Election Manifestos and the European UnionTTIP

Structure of the European Movement

The European Movement has a unique place in British politics. It is a democratic membership organisation, governed by an elected Council. It has separate national councils in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, and branches throughout England, supported by the work of professional staff in the London office. In addition, there are regional Representatives throughout the country to assist in the development of the branches and the delivery of the grassroots campaign. 

The Young European Movement is an important part of the European Movement, working among students and other young people to put the pro-European message on campus and among youth organisations.

The European Movement also works closely with groups within political parties, such as the Conservative Group for Europe, the Labour Movement for Europe and the Liberal Democrat European Group.

There are national sections of the European Movement in most other European countries, coordinated by an international secretariat in Brussels. The different national sections assist each other in their campaigns, and promote contacts and exchanges amongst their members.

European Movement President and Vice-Presidents

President                            Rt Hon Charles Kennedy, MP         

Vice-Presidents                 Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke, QC, MP    

                                              John Pinder OBE

                                              Rt Hon Baroness Joyce Quin

European Movement Executive Officers


Laura Sandys MP


Richard Corbett MEP

Petros Fassoulas 


Geoff Phillips


Brendan Donnelly

Membership Secretary

Sarah Leigh


Click here to view all the members of the National Executive

European Movement staff and volunteers

Administrative Officer         Cherry Clarke

Project Officer                     Beatrix Bojtor

Policy Officer                        David Geary

Policy Officer                       Guillermo Sarrano

National Council - 2013/2015

Click here

European Movement Patrons

Click here

Valid XHTMLEuropean Movement, Southbank House, Black Prince Road, London SE1 7SJ
Tel 020 3176 0543 | Contact Us | Search
Design: techPolitics | Powered by: Typo3
Unless otherwise stated © European Movement 2009. Use of this site is subject to our conditions of use.
Registered office 7 Graphite Square, Vauxhall Walk, London SE11 SEE | Registered in England number 551817